Footballguys Staff Bio: Chris Feery

Chris Feery's mug


Age: 43

Birthplace: Toms River, NJ

Education: Self-educated

Occupation: Freelance Writer and Consultant

Hometown: Forked River, NJ

Family: Two awesome teenage sons, very passionate about being the best parent possible and raising them to the best of my abilities. Live with my extremely supportive girlfriend and live a simple life.

Years playing fantasy football: Season long on and off since the 1990s, discovered DFS in 2010 and been playing ever since.

Favorite FF smack talk: You do know that the idea is to score as many points as possible?

Years writing about fantasy football: Two. Started in 2014 writing about both College and NFL fantasy.

Favorite FBG feature: Hard to name just one. Daily Email updates are a phenomenal resource for staying on top of NFL news. Weekly projections are fantastic and a great tool for figuring out the weeks puzzle. Training camp reports are hands down the best in the business for all the news you need to know in the preseason.

Organized football experience: None, but I have been known for explosive short bursts of speed from time to time

Favorite NFL team: New York Jets

Favorite college team: Notre Dame Fighting Irish

Favorite fan moment: Anticipation of the AFC title games in 2009 and 2010. Great wins by the Jets in the Divisional Round both years led to great anticipation. Unfortunately didn't pan out, but it was a fun ride.

Favorite player of all time: Currently, Eli Manning. Love the humble, unassuming nature that comes up huge in big spots. All-time leans towards Wayne Chrebet, always a big fan of tough little receivers

NFL rule(s) I would change if I could: Change Pass Interference to 15 yards

Favorite movie(s): Goodfellas, Scarface, Braveheart, 300, It's a Wonderful Life, Blues Brothers, Anchorman, Old School, Monsters Inc., Elf

Favorite musical genres/albums/artists: All over the map, depends on mood. I can go from Sinatra and Big Band all the way to today and find something cool in each decade along the way.

What I read: Quality content for NFL and the other major sports, both fantasy related and non-fantasy. Always fascinated by a good entrepreneur bio or interesting self-improvement things.

Hobbies: Following my kids sporting pursuits, Cooking, Finding solutions to things I want to solve, DFS, Day/overnight trips

Favorite TV show(s): Gotham, Empire, Flash, Arrow and Downton Abbey currently. Big Cheers and Seinfeld fan back in the day.

Least favorite household chore: Yard work

Dream job: Pretty close to having it. Took the self-employment plunge in 2014. Some rough spots along the way but overall on the right track.

Quote: Figure out what you want and go out and get it.

Parting thoughts: Life is too short, but it's also really simple if you allow it to be. Keep your family and friends close, follow your heart and always pay it forward.