Fantasy Football News & Views

Search for order by

BAL  BUF  CIN  CLE  DEN  HOU  IND  JAX  KC  LAC  LV  MIA  NE  NYJ  PIT  TEN  
ARI  ATL  CAR  CHI  DAL  DET  GB  LAR  MIN  NO  NYG  PHI  SEA  SF  TB  WAS  

QB   RB   WR   TE   PK   |    All Non-IDP    |    DT   DE   DL   ILB   OLB   LB   CB   S   DB     |      Footballguys View     |     All the news     |     FBG News Blogger Archive


Got Scoop? Click Here to send us your breaking news!
RSS Feed:             News Items Powered By:USA Today - Fantasy Score

  Cowboys | Owner not ruling out Ellis return    Sat Mar 13, 10:53 AM

Clarence Hill, of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, reports Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones said he is open to signing free-agent DL Greg Ellis (Raiders). 'It's not unrealistic is the best way to say it,' Jones said. Ellis has previously said that he would like the opportunity to return to the Cowboys.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Cowboys | Ellis open to returning    Wed Mar 10, 10:54 AM

Calvin Watkins, of ESPNDallas.com, reports the agent for free-agent DL Greg Ellis (Raiders), James Williams, said Ellis is open to returning to the Dallas Cowboys in a reserve role.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis waived    Mon Mar 8, 06:08 PM

Adam Schefter, of ESPN, reports the Oakland Raiders have waived DE Greg Ellis.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis practices in full Friday    Sat Jan 2, 12:32 AM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) practiced in full Friday, Jan. 1, and he is listed as questionable for Week 17. He should be able to play in the game.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis misses practice Thursday    Thu Dec 31, 07:25 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Thursday, Dec. 31, but he will likely start Week 17.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Walker, Ellis miss practice Wednesday    Wed Dec 30, 06:29 PM

Oakland Raiders OT Langston Walker (ankle) and DE Greg Ellis (knee) did not participate in practice Wednesday, Dec. 30.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis misses practice Thursday    Thu Dec 24, 05:15 PM

Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) did not practice Thursday, Dec. 24, but is expected to start in Week 16.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Four miss practice Wednesday    Wed Dec 23, 10:21 PM

CBSSports.com reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee), TE Brandon Myers (concussion), WR Darrius Heyward-Bey (foot) and RB Justin Fargas (knee) missed the team's practice Wednesday, Dec. 23.

Footballguys view: Fargas's practice status holds the key to how safe a play Michael Bush will be this week. If Fargas is out, Bush becomes a good flex play with upside facing the weak Browns.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page
Justin Fargas player page
Darrius Heyward-Bey player page
Brandon Myers player page


  Raiders | Ellis practices in full Friday    Fri Dec 18, 09:56 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) practiced in full Friday, Dec. 18, and he is listed as probable for Week 15.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis misses practice Thursday    Thu Dec 17, 08:05 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Thursday, Dec. 17, but he could play Week 15.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis advised to have offseason surgery    Tue Dec 15, 01:50 PM

Phil Barber, of The Santa Rosa Press Democrat, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) said Monday, Dec. 14, that the team doctor advised him to have his left knee operated on during the offseason. The knee has been troubling Ellis all season. Ellis had it scoped during the team's bye week and has missed two games since then.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis questionable for Week 14    Fri Dec 11, 06:41 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) was limited during practice Friday, Dec. 11. He is listed as questionable for Week 14.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis misses practice Thursday    Thu Dec 10, 09:35 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Thursday, Dec. 10, and he might not play Week 14.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis misses practice Wednesday    Wed Dec 9, 10:55 PM

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Wednesday, Dec. 9. Head coach Tom Cable is holding out hope Ellis will be able to play Week 14.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis inactive for Week 13    Sun Dec 6, 12:13 PM

David White, of the San Francisco Chronicle, reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) is inactive for Week 13 against the Pittsburgh Steelers. As reported earlier, DL Matt Shaughnessy will start in Ellis' place.

Footballguys view: Shaughnessy is a solid DE2 play this week in IDP leagues as he should face a lot of running plays.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page
Tank Tyler player page


  Raiders | Week 13 Inactives    Sun Dec 6, 12:09 PM

The Oakland Raiders have declared QB Charlie Frye, WR Darrius Heyward-Bey, LB David Nixon, OG Erik Pears, DL Greg Ellis, WR Javon Walker, OT Khalif Barnes, WR Nick Miller inactive for Week 13.

Footballguys view: Chaz Schilens, Zach Miller, and Louis Murphy figure to get an extra target or three today with DHB out.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page
Javon Walker player page
Charlie Frye player page
Darrius Heyward-Bey player page


  Raiders | Shaughnessy expected to start in Week 13    Sat Dec 5, 11:01 AM

Steve Corkran, of the Oakland Tribune, reports Oakland Raiders DL Matt Shaughnessy is expected to start at left defensive end in Week 13 in place of DL Greg Ellis (knee).

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page
Tank Tyler player page


  Raiders | Ellis doubtful for Week 13    Fri Dec 4, 09:00 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) did not participate in practice Friday, Dec. 4. He is listed as doubtful for Week 13 and is not expected to play.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis misses practice Thursday    Thu Dec 3, 08:00 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Thursday, Dec. 3, and he might not play Week 13. DL Matt Shaughnessy would start in his place.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page
Tank Tyler player page


  Raiders | Ellis misses practice Wednesday    Wed Dec 2, 09:56 PM

CBSSports.com reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Wednesday, Dec. 2, but he "is doing much better," according to head coach Tom Cable. Ellis is considered questionable for Week 13. If he is unable to play, DL Matt Shaughnessy would start and DL Jay Richardson would play a bigger role.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page
Jay Richardson player page
Tank Tyler player page


  Raiders | Ellis questionable for Week 13     Tue Dec 1, 11:43 AM

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) is questionable for Week 13.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis unable to finish Week 12    Fri Nov 27, 11:23 AM

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) was not able to finish the team's Week 12 game because swelling in his knee. Ellis said he is not sure why his knee started to swell.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis practices in full Wednesday    Wed Nov 25, 05:38 PM

Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee, shoulder) practiced in full Wednesday, Nov. 25, and is probable for the team's Week 12 game Thursday, Nov. 26.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis limited Tuesday    Tue Nov 24, 07:32 PM

CBSSports.com reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee, shoulder) was limited in practice Tuesday, Nov. 24, but head coach Tom Cable said he expects Ellis to play Week 12.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Three limited Monday    Mon Nov 23, 10:00 PM

Bill Nichols, of The Dallas Morning News, reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee), DE Richard Seymour (back) and WR Javon Walker (hamstring) were limited in practice Monday, Nov. 23, according to the Raiders' injury report.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page
Javon Walker player page
Richard Seymour player page


  Raiders | Ellis expects to start in Week 11    Sat Nov 21, 10:18 AM

David White, of the San Francisco Chronicle, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (shoulder, knee) expects to start in Week 11.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis limited Friday, expected to play Week 11    Fri Nov 20, 09:23 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (shoulder, knee) was limited in practice Friday, Nov. 20, and he is listed as questionable for Week 11. He is expected to play and could start the game.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis increases work load Thursday    Thu Nov 19, 09:17 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (shoulder, knee) increased his work load during practice Thursday, Nov. 19, but he could start the team's Week 11 game.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | G. Ellis limited Wednesday    Wed Nov 18, 10:59 PM

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee, shoulder) was limited during the team's practice Wednesday, Nov. 18. Head coach Tom Cable said Elllis could possibly play Week 11.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Week 10 Inactives    Sun Nov 15, 03:37 PM

The Oakland Raiders have declared QB Charlie Frye, OG Erik Pears, DL Greg Ellis, WR Javon Walker, OT Khalif Barnes, WR Nick Miller, LB Ricky Brown, WR Todd Watkins inactive for Week 10.

Footballguys view: Chaz Schilens sees his first game action of 2009 against a suspect Kansas City secondary.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page
Javon Walker player page
Charlie Frye player page
Todd Watkins player page
Ricky Brown player page


  Raiders | Ellis takes part in practice Friday    Fri Nov 13, 09:48 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (shoulder, knee) took part in the team's practice Friday, Nov. 13, and is listed as questionable for Week 10. Head coach Tom Cable said Ellis did 40 to 50 percent of the snaps in practice, and that Ellis will be a game-time decision.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis misses practice Thursday    Thu Nov 12, 07:23 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (shoulder, knee) missed the team's practice Thursday, Nov. 12. He could practice Friday, Nov. 13, and has not been ruled out for Week 10.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis underwent surgery on shoulder    Wed Nov 11, 08:07 PM

CBSSports.com reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee, shoulder) also underwent arthroscopic shoulder surgery last week, according to head coach Tom Cable. Cable still hasn't ruled Ellis out for Week 10.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis not ruled out for Week 10    Sat Nov 7, 11:08 AM

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) underwent successful arthroscopic surgery on his arthritic knee. Head coach Tom Cable would not rule Ellis out of the team's Week 10 game.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis to undergo arthroscopic knee surgery Wednesday    Mon Nov 2, 07:26 PM

CBSSports.com reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) will undergo arthroscopic knee surgery Wednesday, Nov. 4. DE Matt Shaughnessy would make his first NFL start Week 10 if Ellis is unable to play.

Greg Ellis player page
Tank Tyler player page


  Raiders | Ellis misses practice Friday    Fri Oct 30, 09:59 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Friday, Oct. 30. He is listed as questionable for Week 8, but he will play.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis misses practice Friday    Fri Oct 30, 05:06 PM

Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) did not practice Friday, Oct. 30, and is questionable for Week 8.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis misses practice Thursday    Thu Oct 29, 07:45 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Thursday, Oct. 29, but he will probably play Week 8.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis misses practice Wednesday    Wed Oct 28, 10:01 PM

CBSSports.com reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Wednesday, Oct. 28.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis expected to play Week 7    Sat Oct 24, 10:54 AM

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) is expected to play in the team's Week 7 game.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | G. Ellis misses practice Friday    Fri Oct 23, 08:36 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Friday, Oct. 23. He is listed as questionable for Week 7, but he will probably play.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis questionable for Week 7    Fri Oct 23, 06:14 PM

Jerry McDonald, of the Contra Costa Times, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) did not practice Friday, Oct. 23, and is questionable but expected to play in Week 7.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis limited in practice Thursday    Thu Oct 22, 10:20 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) was limited in practice Thursday, Oct. 22, but he is expected to play Week 7.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Carlisle, Ellis limited Wednesday    Wed Oct 21, 06:45 PM

Oakland Raiders OG Cooper Carlisle (ankle) and DE Greg Ellis (knee) were limited during practice Wednesday, Oct. 21.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis questionable for Week 6    Fri Oct 16, 06:53 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) was limited during practice Friday, Oct. 16. He is listed as questionable for Week 6 but is expected to play.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis limited Thursday, could be active Week 6    Thu Oct 15, 09:25 PM

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) was limited in practice Thursday, Oct. 15, but he is expected to start Week 6.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis misses practice Wednesday    Thu Oct 15, 12:21 AM

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) did not practice Wednesday, Oct. 14.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis could be limited in practice    Tue Oct 13, 10:12 AM

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) had an arthritic knee drained, a condition that could limit him in practice.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis off to fast start    Tue Sep 22, 09:42 AM

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis has recorded three sacks through two weeks.

Footballguys view: The Raiders have done well getting the last few good years out of aging defensive linemen, but this means you can probably drop Trevor Scott from your IDP teams.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page


  Raiders | Ellis should play Week 2    Fri Sep 18, 10:13 PM

Updating a previous item, Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (shoulder) should play in the team's Week 2 game.

Link to story
Greg Ellis player page