Almost Too Early 2016 Tier Rankings

Our Ari Ingel provides his early 2016 tier rankings for those currently playing MFL10s or looking to make dynasty trades for the 2016 season. 

This is essentially a companion piece to my recent MFL10 article. When I draft, I always have a tier sheet handy. I find that organizing players by tiers is far more beneficial than merely ranking players. 

I could rank Odell Beckham Jr Jr. over Julio Jones, but it is impossible to truly predict who will finish better between the two of them.  Maybe Jones has fifty more yards on the season then ODB, or maybe Beckham has one more touchdown. Who knows; but I do know that both should finish better than a guy like Alshon Jeffery.

Once again, I can’t tell you with any sense of certainty whether Aaron Rodgers or Andrew Luck will have the better season, but I am fairly certain (health aside) both will finish the year with more points in Fantasy than Ben Roethlisberger and Russell Wilson.

Especially when conducting your MFL10 drafts right now, organizing players by tiers can help you make your selections both by grabbing the higher tiered player and by looking at who is still left and deciding what player to draft. For instance, if I’m debating between a running back and wide receiver in the 3rd round, and see only one receiver from my third tier of receivers left but five running backs from my second tier  of running backs left, I might be inclined to grab the wide receiver in the 3rd round and then grab whatever running back may be left  from that second tier  with my next pick.

These tiers are going to change considerably after the NFL draft once we see where all the rookies land, and I will continue to update these rankings as the pre-season progresses. But this is how I have things now with more detailed comments on some of these players coming soon: 


Tier 1

Cam Newton, Panthers

Andrew Luck, Colts

Aaron Rodgers, Packers

Tier 2

Drew Brees, Saints  

Russell Wilson, Seahawks

Ben Roethlisberger, Steelers

Tier 3

Matthew Stafford, Lions

Carson Palmer, Cardinals

Blake Bortles, Jaguars

Tom Brady, Patriots

Tier 4

Tony Romo, Cowboys

Derek Carr, Raiders

Matt Ryan, Falcons

Philip Rivers, Chargers

Tier 5

Andy Dalton, Bengals

Jay Cutler, Bears

Jameis Winston, Buccaneers

Marcus Mariota, Titans

Tier 6

Tyrod Taylor, Bills

Eli Manning, Giants

Kirk Cousins, Redskins

Ryan Tannehill, Dolphins

Joe Flacco, Ravens

Tier 7

Sam Bradford, Eagles

Alex Smith, Chiefs

Robert Griffin III III, Browns

Tier 8

Ryan Fitzpatrick, Jets

Brock Osweiler, Texans

Mark Sanchez, Broncos

Teddy Bridgewater, Vikings

Tier 9

Jared Goff, TBD

Carson Wentz, TBD

Colin Kaepernick, 49ers

Jimmy Garoppolo, Patriots 

Josh McCown, Browns

Paxton Lynch, TBD

Case Keenum, Rams

Blaine Gabbert, 49ers

Geno Smith, Jets

Chase Daniels, Eagles



Tier 1

Todd Gurley, Rams

Le'Veon Bell, Steelers

Tier 2

Carlos Hyde, 49ers

David Johnson, Cardinals

Devonta Freeman, Falcons

Adrian Peterson, Vikings

Mark Ingram II, Saints

Lamar Miller, Texans

Eddie Lacy, Packers

C.J. Anderson, Broncos

Tier 3

Jamaal Charles, Chiefs

LeSean McCoy, Bills

Doug Martin, Buccaneers

Ezekiel Elliot, TBD 

Tier 4

Thomas Rawls, Seahawks

DeMarco Murray, Titans

Jeremy Hill, Bengals

Tier 5

Matt Forte, Jets

Jonathan Stewart, Panthers

Dion Lewis, Patriots

Ryan Mathews, Eagles

Danny Woodhead, Chargers

Giovani Bernard, Bengals

Tier 6

T.J. Yeldon, Jaguars

Melvin Gordon III, Chargers

Ameer Abdullah, Lions

Duke Johnson Jr, Browns

Charles Sims, Buccaneers

Matt Jones, Redskins

Stevan Ridley, Lions

Jay Ajayi, Dolphins

Tier 7

Justin Forsett, Ravens

Latavius Murray, Raiders

Jeremy Langford, Bears

Tier 8

Rashad Jennings, Giants

Shane Vereen, Giants

Spencer Ware, Chiefs

Frank Gore, Colts

Derrick Henry, TBA

Tier 9

Chris Ivory, Jaguars

Karlos Williams, Bills

Tevin Coleman, Falcons

Bilal Powell, Jets

Isaiah Crowell, Browns

DeAngelo Williams, Steelers

C.J. Spiller, Saints

Christine Michael, Seahawks

Andre Ellington, Cardinals

Theo Riddick, Lions

Tier 10

Jonathan Williams, TBD

Kenneth Dixon, TBD

Paul Perkins, TBD

Jordan Howard, TBD

Keith Marshall, TBD

Tier 11

Alfred Morris, Cowboys

Darren McFadden, Cowboys

Arian Foster, TBD

James Starks, Packers

Jerick McKinnon, Vikings

Lance Dunbar, Cowboys

Javorius Allen, Ravens

Zach Zenner, Lions

Cameron Artis-Payne, Panthers

Charcandrick West, Chiefs

Tre Mason, Rams

Chris Johnson, Cardinals

Darren Sproles, Eagles

Ka’Deem Carey, Bears



Tier 1

Antonio Brown, Steelers

Odell Beckham Jr Jr, Giants

Julio Jones, Falcons

Tier 2

DeAndre Hopkins, Texas

Dez Bryant, Cowboys

A.J. Green, Bengals

Allen Robinson, Jaguars

Tier 3

Mike Evans, Buccaneers

Sammy Watkins, Bills

Jordy Nelson, Packers

Alshon Jeffery, Bears

Amari Cooper, Raiders 

Tier 4

Keenan Allen, Chargers

Demaryius Thomas, Broncos

T.Y. Hilton, Colts

Brandon Marshall, Jets

Brandin Cooks, Saints

Julian Edelman, Patriots

Tier 5

Donte Moncrief, Colts

Randall Cobb, Packers

Eric Decker, Jets

Kelvin Benjamin, Panthers

Tier 6

Jarvis Landry, Dolphins

Stefon Diggs, Vikings

Emmanuel Sanders, Broncos

Jeremy Maclin, Chiefs

Doug Baldwin, Seahawks

Golden Tate, Lions

DeSean Jackson, Redskins

Tier 7

Kevin White, Bears

Michael Floyd, Cardinals

John Brown, Cardinals

Dorial Green-Beckham, Titans

DeVante Parker, Dolphins

Michael Crabtree, Raiders

Larry Fitzgerald, Cardinals

Tier 8

Steve Smith, Ravens

Allen Hurns, Jaguars

Marvin Jones Jr, Lions

Nelson Agholor, Eagles

Jordan Matthews, Eagles

Tyler Lockett, Seahawks

Travis Benjamin, Chargers

Mike Wallace, Ravens

Kendall Wright, Titans

Josh Gordon, Browns 

Tier 9

Josh Doctson, TBD

Laquon Treadwell, TBD

Corey Coleman, TBD

Willie Snead IV, Saints

Breshad Perriman, Ravens

Tier 10

Pierre Garcon, Redskins

Vincent Jackson, Buccaneers

Markus Wheaton, Steelers

Torrey Smith, Ravens

Tavon Austin, Rams

Anquan Boldin, TBD

Brandon LaFell, Bengals 

Tier 11

Mohamed Sanu, Falcons

Phillip Dorsett, Colts

Will Fuller, TBD

Rishard Matthews, Titans

Victor Cruz, Giants

Sammie Coates Jr, Steelers

Tier 12

Sterling Shepard, TBD

Leonte Carroo, TBD

Devin Funchess, Panthers

Michael Thomas, TBD

Devin Smith, Jets

Stevie Johnson, Chargers

Malcolm Mitchell, TBD

Tier 13

Jamison Crowder, Redskins

Jaelen Strong, Texans

Chris Hogan, Patriots

Ted Ginn Jr, Panthers

Kenny Stills, Dolphins

Davante Adams, Packers

Jeff Janis, Packers

Chris Conley, Chiefs

Terrance Williams, Cowboys

Jermaine Kearse, Seahawks

Kenny Britt, Rams



Tier 1

Rob Gronkowski, Patriots

Tier 2

Tyler Eifert, Bengals

Coby Fleener, Saints

Jordan Reed, Redskins

Tier 3

Zach Ertz, Eagles

Greg Olsen, Panthers

Delanie Walker, Titans

Travis Kelce, Cheifs

Gary Barnidge, Browns

Ladarius Green, Chargers

Tier 4

Eric Ebron, Lions

Julius Thomas, Jaguars

Dwayne Allen, Colts

Tier 5

Jimmy Graham, Seahawks

Jason Witten, Dallas

Antonio Gates, Chargers 

Tier 6

Clive Walford, Raiders

Martellus Bennett, Patriots

Jordan Cameron, Dolphins

Charles Clay, Bills

Zach Miller, Bears

Tier 7

Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Buccaneers

Kyle Rudolph, Vikings

Maxx Williams, Ravens

Tier 8

Jared Cook, Packers

Richard Rodgers, Packers

Jeff Heuerman, Broncos

Will Tye, Giants

Jace Amaro, Jets

Ben Watson, Ravens 

Tier 9

Dions Sims, Dolphins

Larry Donnell, Ginats

Josh Hill, Saints

Crockett Gillmore, Ravens

Brent Celek, Eagles

Hunter Henry, TBS

Vance McDonald, 49ers


I Invite You To Follow Me On Twitter:

More articles from Ari Ingel

See all

More articles on: ADP

See all

More articles on: Beginner

See all

More articles on: Blog Posts

See all